Cook County Democrats Endorse Slate for 2022 Primary

Today, the Cook County Democratic Party presented its recommendations for statewide, countywide and judicial races in the 2022 primary.

“We are proud to present this diverse, accomplished slate of candidates as we ramp up for campaign season as a strong, united party organization,” said Cook County Democratic Party Chairwoman Toni Preckwinkle. “This is a slate that represents the values of our party and we look forward to working hard to elect Democrats up and down the ballot in Cook County next year.”

“The Party is excited to recommend our slate of candidates and are energized for the 2022 election cycle,” said Mike Rodriguez, Executive Vice Chair and 22nd Ward Committeeman. “I’m proud of the slate we’ve built and believe it is representative of the diversity and strength of our County’s population.”

“The Party’s slating process is an important opportunity for committeepeople to hear from candidates directly and have necessary discussions as a body,” said Tracy Katz Muhl, Executive Vice Chair and Northfield Township Committeewoman. “I’m proud of our process and look forward to the work ahead.”

During the slating process, candidates are given the opportunity to present their credentials to the 80 Cook County committeepeople, who then vote on recommendations for endorsement. For a candidate to receive the recommendation, they must receive 51% of the weighted vote.

This year, a record number of candidates participated in slating.

Illinois’ primary election will be held on June 28, 2022.

See below for the full list of recommendations: 



U.S. Senator

Tammy Duckworth

Governor & Lieutenant Governor

JB Pritzker & Juliana Stratton

Attorney General

Kwame Raoul


Michael Frerichs


Susana Mendoza

Secretary of State

Alexi Giannoulias

Cook County Board President

Toni Preckwinkle

Cook County Assessor

Fritz Kaegi

Cook County Clerk

Karen Yarbrough

Cook County Sheriff

Tom Dart

Cook County Treasurer

Maria Pappas

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District (6 year term)

Mariyana Spyropoulos

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District (6 year term)

Yumeka Brown

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District (6 year term)

Patricia Theresa Flynn

Metropolitan Water Reclamation District (2 year term)

Daniel Pogorzelski

Cook County Board of Review, District 1

George Cardenas

Cook County Board of Review, District 2

Michael Cabonargi

Cook County Board of Review, District 3

Larry R. Rogers Jr.

Appellate Court

Dominique Ross

Appellate Court (Alternate)

John Ehrlich

Circuit Court

Howard Brookins

Circuit Court

Araceli De La Cruz

Circuit Court

Tom Donnelly

Circuit Court

Ruth Gudino

Circuit Court

Diana Lopez

Circuit Court

Tom Nowinski

Circuit Court

Yolanda Sayre

Circuit Court

Rena Van Tine

Circuit Court

Michael Weaver

Circuit Court (1st Alternate)

Tracie Porter

Circuit Court (2nd Alternate)

Marcia O’Brien Conway

Circuit Court (3rd Alternate)

Jennifer Callahan

Circuit Court (4th Alternate)

Ashonta Rice

Circuit Court (5th Alternate)

Pam Saindon

Circuit Court (6th Alternate)

James Murphy Aguliu

Circuit Court (7th Alternate)

Steven McKenzie

Circuit Court (8th Alternate)

James Gleffe

Circuit Court (9th Alternate)

Debjani Desai

Circuit Court (10th Alternate)

Joanne Fehn

Circuit Court (11th Alternate)

Tiffany Brooks